Society for Renaissance Studies Book Prize

The Society awards a biennial book prize of £500 to encourage original research on any aspect in the field of Renaissance studies and to recognise significant accomplishments by members of the SRS. 


The SRS Book Prize for the year 2016 will be awarded to the author of the best monograph in Renaissance Studies published between 1 January 2014 and 31 December 2015. The winner will be announced at the SRS 7th Biennial Conference, University of Glasgow, in July 2016. To be eligible the monograph must be written in English by a current member of the SRS. The prize will be awarded for a book with a topic where the majority of material is within the chronological period 1300–1650. Books about Renaissance history, art, architecture, philosophy, science, technology, medicine, religion, music, the literatures and languages of Europe, and of the countries in contact with Europe during the Renaissance, are eligible. Books will be judged on the following criteria: 

  • contribution to Renaissance Studies;
  • quality and originality of research; 
  • clarity and eloquence;
  • thoroughness and accuracy in documentation;
  • methodological skill and/or innovation. 


The deadline for nominations has now passed. An announcement of the award will be published in the Society’s publications Renaissance Studies and The Bulletin as well as on the SRS website.


Previous Winners:

2016                   Kate van Orden 

2014               Alec Ryrie

2012               Sjoerd Levelt