Study Fellowships

[Apply Here]


Each year the Society invites applications for Study Fellowships, to support travel or, in exceptional circumstances, other research expenses for projects undertaken in connection with doctoral theses in the field of Renaissance Studies.

The Fellowships are open to anyone registered for a PhD degree in Britain or Ireland. Applications should take the form of a 1,000 word document with the candidate’s institution, department, supervisor, year of study and principal sources of funding, contact details of one referee, and a description of the project for which funding is required, describing the relationship of the project to the finished thesis, and the specific amount of funding required. This should include a short budget detailing projected expenditure for travel, accommodation and subsistence during the proposed research trip. Although the maximum amount awarded for a single Fellowship is £1,500, the Society welcomes applications for projects requiring smaller or larger sums. Priority will be given to candidates at an advanced stage of their research. The Society is developing a number of international links, including with the Istituto Nazionale di Studi sul Rinascimento, which can provide practical support for Fellows wishing to spend time in Florence.


Fellows are required to submit written reports on their projects for publication in the Society’s Bulletin and are expected to acknowledge the Society in any publications resulting from the research. They may also be invited to give short papers at the Society’s biannual National Conference.

The deadline for applications for 2018-19 is 31st May 2018.


[Apply Here]


Recent recipients of SRS Study Fellowships:

2017: Taylor Aucoin, Desire Cappa, Jessica Dalton

2016: Katherine Fellows, Hanna Mazheika

2015: Jamie Cumby, Giacomo Giudi, Katarzyna Kosior

2014: Elizabeth Norton, Gillian Jack, Christine Knaack

2013: Giorgio Lizzul, Rachel Scott, David Yorath 

2012: Jacopo Gnisci, Victoria van Hyning

2011: Scott Jenkins, Lena Liapi, Christian Schneider

2010: Beatrice Mezzogori, Charlotte Panofré, Federico Zuliani

2009: Christiana Anderson, Jan Machielsen, Stefan Visnjevac

2008: Kurosh Meshkat, Varsha Panjwani, Rosa Salzberg, Eva Stamoulou

2007: Samuel Bibby, Catherine Fletcher, Rachel King, Jennifer Rampling

2006: Alex Bamji, Surekha Davies, Alexander Lee, Stephan Schmuck